The bum bites back and on with the factor 50! – Jogle 2015

Day 6 – 12th August

Auldgirth – Dumfries – Gretna – Carlisle – Penrith – Shap – Kendal – 89.1 miles

Today did not start well. We were late getting away mainly because I had developed a problem with the gear change on my bike. It had steadily got worse yesterday to the point that the chain kept coming off. No way was that bike going to get me up Shap Fell, so we decided that Trev would take it to a bike shop, I would ride my 30 year old hybrid reserve bike and Bob and I would manage without support for as long as it took.

Trev came up trumps, took the bike to Halfords in Dumfries and a nice man called Graham sorted the problem in no time. In the meantime, on my shire horse of a bike I took a wrong turn out of the campsite and managed an unnecessary 3 mile detour. Fortunately within 20 miles my bike and I were reunited otherwise I would still have been cycling this leg at midnight.

Despite an inauspicious beginning the day has been fantastic. During lunch at Gretna the skies cleared and the sun came out. You have no idea how good it felt to have the sun on our backs. Up until now sun cream had been top of my list of useless items I had packed. Now? it’s a pair of swimming trunks. What was I thinking!

The afternoon was glorious, through Carlisle, over the Solway and down to Penrith. Another lovely town. But the highlight definitely the climb up Shap Fell. Not as testing as Glencoe (except maybe from the opposite direction) but just as satisfying. At 1600 ft the summit affords a panoramic view to die for and with not a cloud in the sky we were treated to a spectacular one. What a privilege.

The descent is just as exhilarating and needless to say we made good time to Kendal, finally reaching out camp site at 6.30. Exhausted but very happy. It was a wonderful day and we were treated to amazing views. Views that coined “Jerusalem”.

We have met some interesting characters on our trip so far.  Ben in Fort William and Tommy in Tain. An engaging young man spoke to us today just outside Shap. He was wearing an England rugby shirt and we talked to him about rugby. Bob asked him if he played. No he replied, “I’m from Shap”.

The star of the day though was a young lady we encountered just short of Shap Summit, pushing a bed. Yep, you have read it right. Pushing a bed ……… from JO’G’s to Lands End. Unbelievable, and makes our effort look pathetic by comparison.

This evening we were visited by Trevs cousin Ray and his wife Sue. They brought a Red Cross parcel, shepherds pie, gravy, vegetables, red wine and flapjack. Fantastic, and a huge thank you to you both. Lovely to meet you.

Owen Pates and his wife Jodie had also left a lovely card and a bottle of bubbly at the camp site for our arrival to mark the fact we were half way there. Such a kind thought and a fitting end to a fantastic day – a day that Bob and I dubbed ‘sore arse’ day!

Miles to go 550

About Oval Balls

Middle aged and sport loving who loves his wife, children, granddaughters, and family. Other joys include the theatre, travel, reading, writing, walking, good food, great wine, fun friends and life generally. I never thought that I would embrace the "social network" to the extent of reading other peoples blogs, let alone writing one myself. Twitter too. But as you can see, or read, I have been converted.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Charity fund raising, Family and Friends, John O'Groats/Lands End 2015. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The bum bites back and on with the factor 50! – Jogle 2015

  1. Lady Alice says:

    Hi Chris! Looking forward to seeing you both and the rest of the Kemp & Kemp clan tomorrow! A couple of fit firemen came to fetch the BBQ from work today, I didn’t have my glasses on so I could’ve just been fooled by the uniforms! Firemen + sausages = another reason to attend tomorrows BBQ! Have you cycled south of Chez Vegas yet? Did you go through the Peaks? I can sense the tension in the office today, everyone seems a little nervous and the realization of how much you and Bob are doing has set in! Keep it up and use tomorrow to show off to Steven! Also, I love the selfies – but stick to faces on please, no one wants to see a sore belfie (bum selfie)!! I said I would find you some jokes so here goes…Did you hear about the vampire bicycle that went round biting people’s arms off? – It was a vicious cycle.
    A tandem rider is stopped by a police car. “What have I done, officer?” asks the rider.
    “Perhaps you didn’t notice, sir, but your wife fell off your bike half a mile back.”
    “Oh, thank goodness for that,” says the rider. “I thought I’d gone deaf!”
    Well done both! Keep it going!!!

  2. fred says:

    I was thinking of you both yesterday with the weather in some parts of the UK. I saw some photos of water pouring down the streets at a rate of knots. Just hope you don’t experience this along your way. Keep using the bum cream and the factor 50.

  3. Anthony Lavers says:

    Not sure that my last message got through: I really hate this new i-phone. Anyway,it just noted that your weather was getting better as a storm hit London,with thunder and lightning right over the City(producing loud gasps from pedestrians in the street below my window) and torrential rain. Off to France this afternoon. Hope weather is better there;my cycle ride to Castillon and back on Monday might not even be worth a mention on your blog – hardly Glencoe – but I don’t want to do it in the rain.Chris chose the bikes,of course;am sure he wouldn’t swap just now,but I wouldn’t swap saddles either. Have a great time with the Abingdon celebrations. On,on. Anton.

  4. F Pledge says:

    brilliant description Chris which makes me feel like I want to be there sharing all of this. Keep up the good work and l look forward to your next instalement.

  5. Dad says:

    Glad to see you had a good day and pleasing that you have reached the halfway.

Leave a Reply

